Web hosting reviews, complains, deals and news

HostGator Review

Sitegeek Rating
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
Read More...
Community Rating
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
See Users Reviews...

Hosting Plans & Prices

Shared Hosting $2.75 – $5.95

Hatchling Plan Baby Plan Business Plan -
Space
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Dedicated IP Address
Free SSL
Free Domain
Monthly price from $2.75 $3.95 $5.95
Visit site Visit site Visit site Visit site

Cloud Hosting

- - - -
Available CPU
Memory (RAM)
Storage
Bandwidth
Dedicated IP
Free SSL
Free Domain
Monthly price from
Visit site Visit site Visit site Visit site

Dedicated server $119.00 – $149.00

Value Server Power Server Enterprise Server -
CPU 4 Core / 8 Thread 8 Core / 16 Thread 8 Core / 16 Thread
Memory (RAM) 8 GB 16 GB 30 GB
Storage 1 TB 2 TB 1 TB
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
IP Addresses
Free SSL
Free Domain
Monthly price from $119.00 $139.00 $149.00
Visit site Visit site Visit site Visit site

VPS Hosting $29.95 – $49.95

Snappy 2000 Snappy 4000 Snappy 8000 -
Available CPU 2 Cores 2 Cores 4 Cores
Memory (RAM) 2 GB 4 GB 8 GB
Storage 120 GB 165 GB 240 GB
Bandwidth 1.5 TB 2 TB 3 TB
IP Addresses
Free SSL
Free Domain
Monthly price from $29.95 $39.95 $49.95
Visit site Visit site Visit site Visit site

Compare Hosting

4.88
Godaddy web hosting
5
4.5
4.5
55Reviews 60Reviews 11Reviews 6Reviews
Monthly plan from $2.75 Monthly plan from $2.79 Monthly plan from $5,44 Monthly plan from $3.95
Free domain Yes Free domain Yes Free domain Yes Free domain Yes
Full comparison Full comparison Full comparison
More Comparisons

Detailed Review

Hostgator is probably one of the most famous hosting company in the world providing cheap hosting packages to its users since October 2002. Most of new website designers, programmers and webmasters tend to pick Hostgator as one of the most talked about web hosting companies. Thanks to their hosting packages that start at $2.75* per month (if you purchase 3 year plan) and easy to setup accounts, Hostgator acquired for the past 16 years more than 400.000 customers hosting 9 million (as of 2013) domains.

Running a website has never been easier than today. I remember the times when you had to know how to setup your server for better compression, serving images, scripts or videos. You had to know everything in order to properly maintain your website and get the most for your buck. Nowadays, you have huge hosting companies like Hostgator. Of course, that has its own drawbacks – less you know, more you depend on your hosting company. While everything works fine – it is all great but once something happens you are in the hands of your support (or the lack of it). Anyway, no matter how slow the support is, it is easier to bother them than waste your time figuring out how to fix the problem (believe me).

What is Hostgator?

Established in October 2002 by Brent Oxley, Hostgator became one of the biggest web hosting companies in the world. Thanks to their good and quick support, cheap hosting plans and reseller program, Hostgator grow fast from from “Baby Croc” to “King Croc” (reference to their hosting packages back in 2002). In September 2004, Hostgator focused their effort to acquiring more resellers offering “Reseller Package” for just $25. That was pretty good move and thanks to that Hostgator grew even faster. Good old times when you could sell cheap hosting packages to your clients and pay off your hosting bill quickly, earn few bucks and host all your websites for free. Anyway, by the end of 2006, they had more than 200.000 domains hosted on their servers. In 2012, Hostgator was sold to Endurance International Group (EIG) for USD $225 million for many reasons. One of the reasons was that Brent Oxley wanted to travel the world before starting a family, but the more obvious one was the fact that Hostgator had problems creating stubille billing. As a matter of fact, Endurance International Group acquired many reputable hosting companies in the past 20 years, some of them are: Bluehost (their sister companies are HostMonster, FastDomain and iPage), FatCow, BigRock, Dollar2Host, JustHost, PureHost, NetFirms, etc. Therefore, if you want to give your money to other huge company then EIG make sure to do your research first. In 2013, Hostgator was hosting more than 9 million domains across 400.000 user accounts.

Should I use Hostgator Hosting Services?

Short answer is YES! Hostgator provides great service, especially for those users that host small company or personal websites. We live in 2018 and EVERY professional and company should have their own website. Creating personal brand was never more important than today in order to get better job and for company to acquire new clients. Building and maintaining website has never been easier. Low maintenance cost are biggest factor for those two categories so Hostgator is one of the best solutions for this. Their Shared and Cloud hosting packages can handle up to 10.000* unique visitors per day (biggest packages, not the small ones) and that is more than enough for small business or personal needs. If your website receives more traffic, then you should consider more serious hosting packages, VPS, Dedicated hosting or even different hosting providers. In any case, for 99% of user and companies, hosting plans that Hostgator offers on their website are more than enough.

Be aware of the * signs!

Hostgator hosting review

Just like the most hosting companies, Hostgator offers dirty cheap packages – but just in case that you purchase 3 year subscription and pay in advance. That * symbol represents just that – 3 year package at the price of $2.75 to $9.95 a month. In case that you want to pay on monthly basis, realistic costs are $10.95 (+tax) to $19.95 (+tax). When you compare prices with and without * symbol, you will notice significant difference. Moreover, I have compared here cheapest shared hosting price (Hatchling Package)  with most expensive cloud hosting (Cloud Business) price.

Hostgator Packages

At the moment, Hostgator offers few different hosting packages:

  • Shared Hosting
  • Website Builder 
  • Cloud Hosting 
  • WordPress Hosting 
  • Reseller 
  • VPS Hosting 
  • Dedicated Server Hosting

Also, you can purchase domain name for your website through Hostgator that we recommend you to skip entirely. Get your domain name through any domain name register like GoDaddy or NameCheap. Never buy domain name through hosting company – NEVER!

Hostgator Hosting Package Features

Hostgator provides many features across their hosting packages that are in overall similar to all serious web hosting companies. Even packages on Hostgator are pretty similar and choosing the right one can be a little bit difficult especially if you are not sure what you need. If you want to host just one personal or small business website, then even smallest packages can be good and provide good value. On the other hand, if you are learning and tend to host multiple websites then going for the middle packages with more (or unlimited) domains would be better. Good thing about hosting your website(s) on Hostgator servers is even if you are not tech savvy, Hostgator can help you with transferring your website to bigger hosting plans. Especially since this is done “in house” they will not (I believe) charge you arm and leg to move you to bigger plan. Since I want to help you choosing best hosting package for your needs I would suggest reading my conclusions under every plan. Also, we will provide more in depth comparison on our website in the near future. For now, information provided here will be more than enough to help you select proper hosting for your website.

Shared Hosting Plans and Features

Hostgator shared hosting packages

Main difference between Hatchling, Baby and Business Shared hosting is Dedicated IP for your website and Free Positive SSL. Only thing that you actually need here is SSL certificate. It is not essential but considering that Google takes this into account as well as ranking signal, then having SSL is a plus for sure. Remember that you get SSL certificate just for one website even though you can host unlimited number of them. Apart from this, there is nothing worth mentioning as significant difference between those three hosting packages. They all offer FTP access, Hatchling plan is just for one website (domain) while others are unlimited, all hosting features are enabled for all plans, email hosting, control panel features, stats and error logs, etc. In overall, with Hatchling Plan you can host just 1 website while with Baby and Business you can unlimited number of websites (good for testing purposes). Business plan offers free SSL which is great for the price. When on a subject of price, those that you see are for 3 year plan. Real monthly prices are:

  • Hatchling Plan – $10.95 (+tax)
  • Baby Plan – $11.95 (+tax)
  • Business Plan – $16.95 (+tax)

Website Builder Hosting Plans and Features

There is no major difference between those three packages in terms of features. With “Premium Plan” you get priority support (basically nothing special) and with eCommerce Plan you can setup shop and sell your stuff online. To be honest, I don’t get this one when talking about eCommerce considering what Hostgator has to say “All of HostGator’s hosting plans are perfect e-commerce solutions.Source Only difference between those packages are price and SSL certificate for eCommerce Plan. Worth the price difference? Yes considering the price of SSL certificate. If you can acquire it cheap, then no. Real prices are following:

  • Starter Plan – $11.35 (+ tax)  billed monthly
  • Premium Plan – $125.79 (+tax) billed yearly + you get free domain name
  • eCommerce Plan – $209.56 (+tax) billed for 2 years + free domain name

In any case, I would just skip this package. Apart from different checkout page this plan does not offer any significant difference from Shared or Cloud Hosting plans.

Cloud Hosting Plans

Hostgator cloud hosting packages

In my personal opinion, Cloud Hosting plans offered by Hostgator are best hosting that you can get here. They offer all features and there is, free SSL certificate plus, they are scalable! Remember, you get free SSL certificate for 1 domain, not for 2, not for unlimited number of websites – just for 1 main domain that you register (or choose). What I mean by that? If you, for example purchase “Hatchling Cloud” in order to get more resources all you need is to go to Hostgator Panel, change your package from it to Baby cloud with 4 CPU cores or Business Cloud with 6 and pay the price difference. Since your website is in the “cloud” there is nothing else you need to do. Also, when you compare those packages you will also notice that real difference between those three hosting plans are amount of RAM memory that you can use, number of domains you can host and CPU cores. My recommendation is to start with “Baby Cloud” and more to “Business Cloud” once you need more resources. Real monthly prices are following:

  • Hatchling Cloud – $12.95 (+tax)
  • Baby Cloud – $13.95 (+tax)
  • Business Cloud –  $19.95 (+tax)

If you want to host just your own website as portfolio or small company website and you want to keep your expenses as low as possible, I would suggest “Hatchling Cloud” over “Hatchling Plan”. For $2 you will get SSL certificate and that is a plus both for Google and your potential customers.

WordPress Cloud Hosting Plans

Hostgator wordpress hosting packages

Now we are at the point where we need to use our calculator to determine if WordPress packages are worth the price. On a plus side, you will get Free SSL certificate for your website. They also offer migration of your existing blog to their servers for free (number of websites migrated depends on a plan) so that is also a plus. I have not tested this but it sure sounds good especially if you are not tech savvy. If you, on the other hand just want to start your blogging adventure, Starter Plan is just enough. Hitting 100K visits per month is far away for you. But when you take out your calculator, that is just over 3000 visits a day. In any case, pretty good but take into consideration that those numbers will go down as you add more addons and plugins to your WordPress. I can bet that they will cut this traffic in half if you add many plugins. So, using this logic, with Business Plan you can expect it to handle more than 16.000 unique visits to your (3) blog(s) daily. With few plugins here and there, that should be fine for 10.000. Considering this amount of traffic, price is fair. If you receive more visits than this you should consider more serious hosting than this anyway. One thing that is not obvious here is CDN. Yes, for those packages Hostgator provides CDN which is really great. Considering that CDN is not free (if you want to use something proper) than there is value here. Real monthly price:

  • Starter Plan – $14.95 (+tax)
  • Standard Plan – $20.95 (+tax)
  • Business Plan – $27.95 (+tax)

Now when we look at those prices it doesn’t look that good. If we take into consideration that Cloudflare offers free CDN for for website (3 pages rule) then this doesn’t look that great. When you compare Business Cloud that is $19.95 with Business Plan here that is $27.95 – I would choose Cloud one.

Reseller Hosting

Hostgator reseller hosting packages

We are at the point where you need to know what you want and what you need. I believe that you already know what “Reseller” plans offer. From time to time I build websites for customers and I was thinking about this in the past. Yes, having Cloud hosting plan or something similar where you can host unlimited number of websites is fine and you can provide FTP access to your customers but having Reseller plan looks (and it is) more suitable for business. In any case, if you are considering to get into this and think about Reseller Hosting, best advice would be to go for smaller one and grow from there but I would advise you differently. If you think about Reseller Hosting then it would be best to go for biggest and save with discount code. Lets compare prices (monthly):

  • Aluminum Plan – $29.95 (+tax)
  • Copper Plan – $41.95 (+tax)
  • Silver Plan – $59.95 (+tax)

For a year if you pay monthly, if would look like this:

  • Aluminum Plan – $29.95 (+tax) x 12 = $359.4
  • Copper Plan – $41.95 (+tax) x 12 = $503.4
  • Silver Plan – $59.95 (+tax) x 12 = $719.4

If you choose one year plan right from start, you will pay this much (coupon code provided by Hostgator):

  • Aluminum Plan – $299.42 (16.69% off)
  • Copper Plan – $359.38 (28.61% off)
  • Silver Plan – $359.41 (50.04% off)

My honest advice and suggestion if you think about purchasing Reseller Plan is to save money and purchase AT LEAST it for a year. If you really want to save (and earn) money with this, you should go for 3 year option.

Why? Take a look at this:

Price total:

At this point you should spend some time looking for better coupon codes than provided by Hostgator. Even though current one provided by Hostgator themselves is 58.38% off, you should try to find better discount. For Business Cloud, I remember getting 71% off so there is always chance that you can find one in 60-70% range.

Hostgator VPS Hosting Plans

Hostgator VPS hosting

VPS hosting plans provided by Hostgator are very interesting and provide great flexibility for their users. If you are thinking about getting one, then you already know that you get what you pay for. VPS plans are for sure for more tech savvy people that know what they want and need. With full root access, you can have full control over your hosting. Basic plans will not provide much better response time or better performance compared to other hosting plans mentioned before but offer more flexibility and control. Bigger plans, more RAM and CPU cores should provide better response and faster loading of your websites as well. Now, lets see how much this will cost (monthly) without cPanel (+$10 for cPanel):

  • Snappy 2000 – $79.95 (+tax)
  • Snappy 4000 – $119.95 (+tax)
  • Snappy 8000 – $149.95 (+tax)

For full 3 years with discount offered by Hostgator:

  • Snappy 2000 – $718.11 (+tax) 75% off
  • Snappy 4000 – $1,078.25 (+tax) 75% off
  • Snappy 8000 – $1,438.08(+tax) 73% off

I don’t think that you will find coupon codes anywhere that will offer more than 75% or 73% that are already provided by Hostgator. Real question here is whether it is better to go for Dedicated Plan or stay with VPS for this price. This is whole new subject that we will discuss in article dedicated to this question.

Dedicated Server Hosting

Hostgator dedicated hosting plans

Hostgator pinnacle, top of the line ultimate power and control packages! Lets see what they offer to their customers and at what price! First question that I would ask you is why? Have you heard of RackSpace, IBM Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud? I remember how much trouble you can have with dedicated server and once cloud was introduced first thing that came to my mind was “My God, no more resets and OS installation”. I won’t argue here, if you are tech savvy person than dedicated server has its benefits like: performance, lower cost, less complexity, better per-dollar performance. In any case, I have never used Hostgator Dedicated Servers so I can’t give my insights on this. Since I never had major issues with their other services (and I’m using them for 10+ years) I believe that they are fine. Anyway, here are their real monthly prices with cPanel:

  • Value Server – $189.00 (+tax)
  • Power Server – $249.00 (+tax)
  • Enterprise Server – $289.00 (+tax)

Hostgator Packages Speed and Uptime

In the past, Hostgator had its problems with uptime and speed of their servers across the board. Most reviews that are found today saying that they are slow, not reliable, etc came from that period of time – https://wpsecuritylock.com/eig-major-outage/2013 and 2014 to be exact. When compared to competition, Hostgator offers great as advertised 99.99% uptime, fast servers with response time that depends mostly on your plan and location. People often forget that servers are machines, computers that update from time to time, that break from time to time and so on. It happens, it is true and when that happens it is not pleasant feeling especially if you receive significant traffic. Contacting support often helps. I must say that every time when I had to contact them, I was lucky to resolve my issue with someone. Sometimes that was right away, sometimes after speaking with level 2 or level 3 support but issues were resolved always.

How much is “Unlimited”?

Hostgator and many other companies advertise their service as “Unlimited”. In a real world, this is not really “as much as you can”. Just imagine running YouTube on $5 hosting plan. Real world is a bit different and how much is “unlimited” depends on many factors and it varies from hosting package to hosting package. If you are lucky to host your website on a shared or cloud server with 100 other people that don’t use server resources at all, you will get more for your money. On the other hand, if you are unlucky and you host your website on heavily used server – your response time and loading speed may suffer a bit. Of course, Hostgator is capping websites that use much resources and do their best to keep everything in balance. Hostgator allows a maximum of 25% CPU usage limit and you are not allowed to cross this limit for more than 90 seconds for WordPress plans and Shared plans while Reseller plans have same 25% cap but per cPanel. Cloud plans have scalable capping as they are built more to handle traffic bursts. With Cloud plans, you can use 50% of your power without capping. You can use 100% for 300 seconds and after that it will be throttled down by 25% every 300 seconds. With VPS servers, you can use 100% of your CPU power but since it is just a portion of whole server it is recommended to upgrade to dedicated plans if you always use 100% of it. Of course, with dedicated server plans it is all up to you. You are allowed to use 100% of it all the time.

Ordering Process and Setup Time

Ordering your hosting package with Hostgator is easy and quick. If you already purchased your domain name, all you need to do is to add it on checkout page together with your credit card info and you will get access to your cPanel instantly. Of course, once you add DNS information to domain, your website will be online.

Pros Using Hostgator

Every person using Hostgator services have love/hate relationship with them and that is expected. You will find many negative reviews about Hostgator mainly because tons of people use their services. Often, when people get enough they move to another hosting provider and then get back to Hostgator. Of course, this is not always the case but in overall – Hostgator provides great service at low price. Also, Hostgator may really say that they have great uptime. Advertised 99.9% uptime is industry standard and anything less than that is not really tolerated. Also, great way to advertise this and keep to the word is offering compensation for lower uptime. Hosting your website with huge company as a result has 24/7 support. Yes, waiting time depends on many factors but you will be in front of your screen anyway. It is not a huge difference if you wait 2 or 30 minutes – just pop up your support chat and watch YouTube if you don’t have anything smarter to do. Even though they advertise “Unlimited everything” you can get capped in terms of traffic, bandwidth, CPU, MySQL connections, etc. In any case, if you really need more resources than provided, then you receive enough traffic to really consider bigger package. If you receive 10K visits a day, then you should monetize those visits somehow and use hard earned money to pay for server as well.

Cons Using Hostgator

There is no perfect hosting company and Hostgator is not perfect. Using cheap, shared hosting solution has its disadvantages for sure. You will be sharing your server with many people and most often it will be more people than it is advertised or expected. In order to be able to provide low cost service, all hosting companies will put as many accounts on server as they can. As a result, they will run them on their limit – preferably at 99% all the time. Expect that your loading time will suffer.

In any case, you get what you pay for and if you pay $155 for 3 year Business Cloud hosting plan like me, then you should be able to live with bit slower loading and support waiting time.

How to Get the Most of Hostgator?

To really get the most out of your Hostgator hosting plan is to get expensive one for as long time as you can possibly can. Personally, I always purchase 3 year plans using best discount codes that I have find online at that time. When I know that my hosting will end in 3-4 months, I start looking for discounts. With best ones, you can get 60-70% off the price. Even Hostgator themselves offers discounts like this.

How to Get Hostgator Coupon Code?

Easiest way to do do this is to go directly to their checkout page and see what they offer right from the box. If that is 70% off, then don’t even bother looking for bigger discount. Now, if you have 30-40% discount, then you should move your mouse cursor like you want to close the page. Their popup will go up and you will get better offer. If this don’t happen, try it few times or try using incognito mode.

I have tried this right this moment and I received first offer for 40% discount, then for 44% discount and lastly 71% discount code for 3 year plan. Of course, if this trick with going back and forth, refreshing the page doesn’t help, you should Google for discount codes. In any case, try to find 50-60%+ discount code. They are not always available but that is main reason why you want to start looking for them few months in advance.

Also, check Hostgator Discount Codes page! Maybe you find some gems there as well.

What Hostgator Hosting Package Should I choose?

This is probably most common question that people ask, especially if it is the first time that they purchase web hosting. People will tell you that you should get cheapest one first and then go for more expensive once your website starts to get more traffic. It is WRONG! Go for most expensive one right from the start!

Why? Because, once your websites starts growing, you should focus on your website. I can bet that you don’t know how to transfer website from one server to another, from one package to different one. Even if Hostgator do this automatically, there is a chance that something will go wrong. In most cases, exactly this happens. So, get biggest package (when talking about Shared and Cloud hosting) as someone new in all this hosting business.

Also, I never understood “Website Builder” and “WordPress Hosting” packages. Why would you buy it when with Cloud Hosting or even Web Hosting package you have all that. Nowadays, you have tons of WordPress templates that will allow you to create website. You can use plugins like “Elementor” and create website that you want.

As Hostgator say by themselves “If you’re trying to build a large-scale site, or simply want more control over the look and feature set of your site, then WordPress is going to be a great choice.” So right from the start you should skip Website Builder package.

Now, if you want to host a blog on Hostgator servers then you can choose between “WordPress Hosting”, “Shared” or “Cloud” hosting. To be honest, I don’t see the point here but let’s say that WordPress hosting servers are preconfigured to host WordPress and that is more predictable for Hostgator to service those servers. I would say that it’s all marketing gibberish. As long as MySQL and PHP, you don’t need anything special.

Real choice up to this point is whether to choose Shared Web Hosting or Cloud Hosting. Here is what Hostgator has to say about this:

Hostgator Cloud vs Web hosting

It is much more simple now: Cloud Hosting it is for people getting started with their websites. Why? Because you will get more for your money. You have open hands to host not just WordPress sites but try and test other scripts. What if you want to try Joomla or something else?

Of course, if you are more experienced, then you will go for VPS or Dedicated server. In this case, you already know what you need and what you are doing so my tip here can only be regarding finding best coupon codes and discounts. Choosing between VPS and Dedicated server (especially on Hostgator) is really discutibile so we will continue it in our article VPS or Dedicated Hostgator Package

Hostgator Security

Hostgator has strong firewalls to counter all online threats, DDoS attacks, viruses and other nasty things that dwell online. They take their security seriously so there is no need to worry about this. All instructions are provided, you will create your own PIN code and they will ask for it when you contact them.

HostGator Users Reviews

Rating 3.4 (55 reviews)
Will
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
August 25, 2017
Great 24/7 phone support, reasonable pricing,...

Great 24/7 phone support, reasonable pricing, Cpanel.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Jacques
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
July 8, 2017
bad service

bad service

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Gina
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
October 12, 2016
I have used Hostgator for at...

I have used Hostgator for at least 15 years. I was a reseller for many years even. When I started my current job I convinced my company to move all of it`s hosting to HostGator because my past experiences were so good. We have 2 Hostgator accounts now. One has many small domains on it. We have never had any problems until recently. Several months ago, I began getting emails to the smaller account only telling me that our web sites were compromised and we should buy Sitelock because if something happens to our sites, they will shut them down. I ignored them. But I did get a different security monitoring program to scan the site daily. Sitelock got to a point where we got several emails a day, and then phone calls. We asked it to stop, it didn`t. I sent a complaint to Hostgator customer support and went back and forth with them. 24 hours later, all the sites were infected with Malware. They`ve blocked access to the sites so I cannot remove it. But I CAN pay Sitelock to remove it. Nevermind. We`ll just lose 12 different web sites and start fresh elsewhere rather than give a penny to Sitelock.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Dr-Shadi LuLu
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
August 27, 2016
bad service and affiliate is scam

bad service and affiliate is scam

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Nitin
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
August 25, 2016
good service and system then big...

good service and system then big rock

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Micah
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
August 7, 2016
Hostgator is great! Amazing uptime, excellent...

Hostgator is great! Amazing uptime, excellent support, blazing fast speeds!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

yog
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
June 9, 2016
HostGator is announced as one of...

HostGator is announced as one of the best e-Commerce webhosting 2015 by BestHostingSearch php

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Cansu
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 11, 2016
Easy to manage control panel. Support...

Easy to manage control panel. Support the wordpress. Cheaper than other Turkish hosting firms.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

David Dienhart
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
March 10, 2016
I was already migrating my sites...

I was already migrating my sites away from HostGator due to many performance issues and outages, when last night I was taking a full backup of one of my sites to migrate to my new host and discovered viruses. Needless to say, this added to my frustrations and is simply causing me to expedite my migration efforts even more. They did give me 3 months free for my performance issues and just gave me 3 more months for the virus. While that`s a lot, it`s not worth it for me to stay.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Peter
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 9, 2016
disk space, out-of-the-box features and memory

disk space, out-of-the-box features and memory

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

John BW
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 1, 2016
Hostgator to me seems to have...

Hostgator to me seems to have superiror back-end services and customer services. I find working with network solutions File Manager a nightmare. Some files get hidden and some folders refuse to open.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Vidhya Sundaram
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
July 30, 2015
They suck big time! Their support...

They suck big time! Their support especially. If your hosting does not have CPanel they have no clue what to do and how to do.
That is their level of expertise. They clearly tell - only hardware problems we support, software its your issue.
"Customers buy hosting because they want to manage on their own". This is when we had issues on name server mapping with VPS.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

neha
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
May 28, 2015
Beware! Worst Ever Hosting Provider
my webhostingreviews...

Beware! Worst Ever Hosting Provider
my webhostingreviews for hostgator
Worst webhost ever! Their servers can`t even run simple WordPress sites properly. Every 2-3 days my website stopped working. Often MySQL database would stop working. My last year with them was worst suffering. I wasted a lot of time emailing them tickets and calling them. Rankings of my website went became poor due to their server problems. Please don`t go for it. Choose only reputed hosting provider, never trust such liars and their promises.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Koh Hyejoo
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 26, 2015
I just had horrible expeirence with...

I just had horrible expeirence with Hostgater

I was so excited to make my own website yesterday and signed up for the business account with Hostgater.

It worked really well and me and my friends started to build a new website together.

We tried to log in to the account and work on the website today and we were told that Hostgater just canceled my account becuase they can`t detect the IP address where I signed up. And my money C$200 is on pending.

What I was told after chatting with call center rep for the solution is just signing up for anther account and wait for my money back from the pending one.

They think that I can get C$200 from anywhere and anytime I want.

I am so diappointed that they didn`t even contact me and when they cancelled my account by themselves.

Now I need to wait two weeks more for my money to be refunded and create another account with OTHER WEB HOSTING SITES!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

ddjd dd
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 17, 2015
HostGator has been recognized as one...

HostGator has been recognized as one of the best dedicated server hosting provider that offer high-performance servers with outstanding configuration and reasonable price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Shai Sueno
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 4, 2015
I think that many reviews here...

I think that many reviews here are companies promoting themselves. I do not see how Hostgator can get good rating, it is known for not being... well the best. Their customer service is one of the worst in the industry. You have to submit a ticket for each issue you have, it is impossible to get hold of them over the phone.

I tried a few times to contact the customer service and complain about sites that I had hosted with them, finally I gave up. They did not understand the issue I complained about. They did not respond fast and it cost me so much more money than I saved on hosting costs. I finally moved a few sites to Inmotion hosting and a few more to just host, and I cannot say that I am super satisfied but I can say that the service I get now is much better. In addition, the important part is that I do not need to contact customer service that much anymore. The sites are not falling as often so I get to be less worried about the quality of the service I am getting. I recommend you all to get pingdom or some other service and measure for yourself if the hosting you get is worth the money you are paying. I got so many messages that I understood that there is a real problem with the service I was getting.
Also, negotiate the price, it is not what you see online, if you have many sites. Anyhow, not recommending them, but you can try it yourself.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Robin
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
March 16, 2015
HostGator is organizing HostGator Coupon Codes...

HostGator is organizing HostGator Coupon Codes event on St. Patrick`s Day. Company is offering 55% discount on hosting and cut price for domain registration just $8.00 by using coupon code GOLD. The event is beginning on March 16, 2015 and ends on march 18, 2015. this promotional event is for bloggers, webmasters and anyone who is starting a business or online e-commerce.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Corina.com
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 16, 2015
HostGator is always providing great sales...

HostGator is always providing great sales and web hosting deals.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Stephens
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 14, 2015
Hostgator is offering 50% to 75%...

Hostgator is offering 50% to 75% off for new hosting plans on Valentine`s Day 2015. The sale is available for 24 hours and will end at 11.59pm Saturday night. Coupon code is CUPID.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

John
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 13, 2015
Lots of reviews here are fake...

Lots of reviews here are fake people trying to promote their own hosting affiliate sites. Hostgator is a horrible company. Since they sold out many years ago their customer service is probably one of the worst out there. Not only do they just force you to submit a ticket now, its pointless calling or live chatting with them. Tired of my sites always going offline because of `some issue` with their servers. Ive moved over 20 hosting accounts out of hostgator and will never go back to them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Roberto
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 7, 2015
Hostgator plan is awarded in Top...

Hostgator plan is awarded in Top 10 shared web hosting plans for 2015 analyzed by HostingReview360.com.Hostgator guarantees 99.9% uptime. The unlimited disk space and bandwidth ensures that websites can run smoothly and cpanel enables people to manage domains.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

John Lee
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 6, 2015
HostGator is announced as one of...

HostGator is announced as one of the best e-Commerce webhosting 2015 by BestHostingSearch.NET.

HostGator is offering SSH and a shared SSL certificate to make sure secure connection and data transmission. Company has 99.9% uptime guarantee.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Digital Data Group
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 3, 2015
host gator is #1 service provider.good.....good......

host gator is #1 service provider.good.....good... very good......

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Mark J
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
January 17, 2015
HostGator is offering discount of 20%...

HostGator is offering discount of 20% on its unlimited web hosting packages. After discount the plans start at $3.96/mo.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Kara Swisher
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
January 16, 2015
Hostgator is an award winning provider...

Hostgator is an award winning provider managing more than 9 million domains. The company has 3 shared hosting plans for bloggers and online businesses and provides free transfer of domain, file database and script for people.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Mustafa AbdElHamid
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
January 11, 2015
I used host gator reseller for...

I used host gator reseller for over 4 years and the service was perfect

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Arthur
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
January 2, 2015
HostGator is offering discounts and offer...

HostGator is offering discounts and offer great hosting!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Dane Smith
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
December 25, 2014
Hostgator is announced as a best...

Hostgator is announced as a best web hosting company for the year 2014 by Top 10 Best SEO Hosting.com. Company provides outstanding services to the customers and web hosting companies. The company has information from many sources one of the reason for beneficial to customers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

gyyy
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
December 24, 2014
Hostgator are brilliant! I have only...

Hostgator are brilliant! I have only been with them a short while but the support is amazing, I dont know how they do it. I have yet to have a question that they have not been able to answer for me

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Brian Olvera
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
December 22, 2014
Hostgator is running Christmas Flash Sale...

Hostgator is running Christmas Flash Sale in which you can grab 75% discount on all hosting packages, the discount will be featured in Flash sale that will be live for limited time, check out schedule of Hostgator Flash sale

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Ismail Kamdar
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
December 13, 2014
HostGator offers unlimited bandwidth, unlimited diskspace....

HostGator offers unlimited bandwidth, unlimited diskspace. One of my favorite web hosts.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Ahd Amara
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
December 13, 2014
Bought this hosting plan during a...

Bought this hosting plan during a Christmas sale. Have had a little downtime, but nothing super long.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Mehmet Y?ld?r?m
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
December 12, 2014
hostgator is a leading provider of...

hostgator is a leading provider of web hosting services. By offering 25% discount its collaborating new customers. Customers can enjoy this offer till 5 Jan 2015. So the offer becomes New Year happening offer also.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Lurditas Quaresma
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
December 11, 2014
I have used HostGator Happy Holidays...

I have used HostGator Happy Holidays offer with Coupon Code: "MaxHostingCoupon","MaxOffCoupon","FirstMonthSale and very much satisfied with the services and really appreciate their offer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Hendry
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
December 10, 2014
HostGator has given the tips to...

HostGator has given the tips to increase the website speed. Tips include many factors, like to determine speed, load time and location time. Browser caching is also there to increase speeds for repeat users. Another one is to minimize redirection on the page.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Eyob
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
November 27, 2014
HostGator is offering 55% discount and...

HostGator is offering 55% discount and price as low as $2.23/mo for Thanksgiving and Black Friday. Hosting solutions includes site building tools and templates, MySQL transfer, domain transfer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Jenn
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
November 20, 2014
HostGator provider of Cloud based web...

HostGator provider of Cloud based web presence platform solutions. Is offering Business WordPress plan which include unlimited domain, disk storage and bandwidth for $10.36 per month.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Melissa
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
November 14, 2014
Hostgator part of Endurance International Group...

Hostgator part of Endurance International Group has cloud based platform will conduct a job fair in Austin on 19th Nov. between 3:00-7:00 pm. The company is looking for dedicated, motivated employees for the position of Technical Support Representative. HostGator offers many benefits on its working hours such as Catered lunch and game areas. Employees of full time have facilities of medical, dental, vision plans, retirement savings plan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

John
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
October 30, 2014
HostGator has turned 12 on 22nd-Oct-2014...

HostGator has turned 12 on 22nd-Oct-2014 after years of consistent and impeccable service. To commensurate the love and faith shown by the customers towards HostGator, the provider is announcing great discounts on all of its packages on the eve of its 12th Anniversary.
To Get 65% off visit @ http://hostgatorcouponoffers.net/go
The HostGator Anniversary Sale offers you a flat 65% off on all new hosting packages that are registered for duration of 6 months and flat 45% off on all new hosting packages registered for a year or more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Jerry
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
October 13, 2014
HostGator.com is the most recommended Linux...

HostGator.com is the most recommended Linux hosting suppliers announced by Top 10 Best SEO Hosting, for webmasters from the USA, UK, Canada, Australia and Europe to buy high quality Linux hosting (including VPS and cloud hosting).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Mariam
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
October 3, 2014
HostGator.com one of the leading web...

HostGator.com one of the leading web hosting provider Since 2002, is the most recommended companies in September as per Top10BestSEOHosting.com which has compared many popular hosting suppliers in the past couple of weeks. On its website, customers can always buy high quality Joomla hosting (including cloud and VPS hosting) at affordable rates.
HostGator.com is a web hosting provider known for its flexible hosting packages, decent uptime record and beneficial support options.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Daniel
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
October 2, 2014
WPMatter, one of the largest WordPress...

WPMatter, one of the largest WordPress resource sites, has recognized HostGator as the best web hosting for college students. As it offer budget-friendly and rich-featured web hosting services.
HostGator is one of the world’s leading and largest web hosting providers. It shared hosting plans guarantees customers for quality which are now used to power millions of websites.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Icee Concepcion
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
May 11, 2014
I was using the services of...

I was using the services of hostgator from last 6 months and I am feeling OK with the services and now on their most reasonable plan I am hosting my private web site. I do not face any issue with them and no problem of downtime occurs even once yet.Yes the thing which I do not like about the provider is their pricing. If you are looking for your personal websites then it is good but if you are having a large scale business, then its expensiveness will benefit you.If you do not have any idea regarding what is going on, then go for Hostgator. The provider offers you tutorials which are very easy to learn and follow and also offer built in features, for instance web site builder.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Igor Nadjiev
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 23, 2014
I like the services of Hostgator...

I like the services of Hostgator very much..I am using it continuously from last several years for my several no. of accounts. Their services are of high quality. The plans which they offer are very honest and reliable, as the features they mention on their site to offer in their plans, were really offered by them. When I need tech assistance, they offer good and reliable level of support. They guide me properly, provide right directions one by one and try to resolve the problem on instant basis..Hostgator rocks..Keep it up. Nice work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Joseph Cabrera
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 2, 2014
I have been using the services...

I have been using the services of this provider from last 3 years. I am having four websites so I avail the services of different hosting providers for my different websites and I am pleased to say that hostgator.com works best among all. Once I face an issue regarding my website, it went down but their supporting staff correct the issue in a much faster way than I expected from them, as other providers do not respond very quickly. Whenever I required help from the company they always give very fast responses to queries with relevant information and some useful tips. In the last month, at hostgator the websites which were hosted by me were hacked. Earlier also this problem occurs and I reported regarding the same to them and they provide proper backup of my website. Again this issue arises and this time they provide complete and permanent solution of the problem, so that it does not occur in future. When they correct and fixed the websites I did not face any issues with them again. From Google, the websites which were hacked were treated or identified as malevolent websites and antivirus software’s were installed properly and time to time updating was also done, so hostgator’s server performance is good and it scan viruses, malwares and other threats.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Elmasbahi
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 1, 2014
I used the cPanel of Hostgator,...

I used the cPanel of Hostgator, it makes web hosting smooth and easy for me..Its services are also good and highly recommended by me. Good features, excellent web hosting services, affordable prices, maximum level of customer satisfaction offered by Hostgator to all their clients or customers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Beatriz Barreto
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
March 31, 2014
I am using one of the...

I am using one of the webs hosting plan of Hostgator from last 5 months and I am not very much satisfied with their web hosting services. The features they promised to offer in their plan were actually not offered by them. Some features are there and some are not included. Whatever they promised in the terms of offering of features, they do not fulfill their promise. With this they also do not provide their satisfactory services in the terms of web hosting. The support which they promised to offer in the beginning of the deal like they said that their customer care rep are available for 24 hrs a day to help their customers with any kind of problem related to their web site, was also not given properly as when I try to reach them via phone, their rep do not pick my call, when via e-mail they don’t respond fast to my mail. Their customer support is very dull, I think their staff is not very active as required by the company’s needs. The answers which they provide me of my queries are also not appropriate and very satisfactory. First they respond very late and second their response is not satisfactory, so overall their support is not very good. With their features and support, their services are also not very satisfactory. They do not offer high quality web hosting services such as their customer service is not good. Prices are also not affordable of all the web hosting plans. In all, I am not much satisfied with the services, features, web hosting plans, prices of Hostgator. So, avoid this and used the services of any other web hosting provider such as iPage, Arvixe, Go Daddy, Host metro, Just host, Just cloud and many more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Kenneth Dando
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
March 25, 2014
Cheap prices offered by the hostgator...

Cheap prices offered by the hostgator and in all the terms, it is very supportive. Hostgator comes under the category of the leading web hosting providers. Personally I like the services of hostgator because earlier I buy the free hosting plan of some other provider and after few days I found that my content was deleted and they mention the reason that my website contain unsuitable content and with this some of my files also gets deleted by them, so I have decided that I will change my provider to hostgator and then I found that no more such problems exist anymore. The company is good and quickly responsive to all your queries and offers you all kind of support like if you don’t know the process of hosting your website then by accessing the provider’s website once you will go to learn everything regarding web hosting, dedicated servers and VPS servers and the other important things. Overall it is a good web hosting company.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Lakshm
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
March 4, 2014
I was connected with this company...

I was connected with this company from last 4 months and I enjoy their services a lot. Their support is just fantastic. Their rep is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The services they offer are of high quality..keep it up good work Hostgator.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Tusher
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 20, 2014
The customer support of Hostgator is...

The customer support of Hostgator is extremely helpful. Whenever you need them, you just contact them via live chat, phone or e-mail they will respond to your queries very quickly, in just few minutes or sometimes in just seconds also. This is good as client is not in the practice of waiting for a long time. So, they are looking for those customer care rep who can resolve their problem in just no time. And this kind of rep can be found in Hostgator

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Jay Khalifa
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 7, 2014
HostGator simply rocks, for all kind...

HostGator simply rocks, for all kind of people ranging from the starters or freshers to expert website builders. If you do not have any idea regarding building of the website and you need the jargon, HostGator in the starting might be a little bit difficult for you. But if you are interested in learning the elements which are required in order to upload your website, then HostGator may prove a great option for you. I am considering myself as a starter to intermediary web developer because I wanted to save money as my business is build from the scratch. With the help of HostGator I can teach myself regarding building of websites and that too at the lower cost. I am a continuous leaner so I like HostGator.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Ahamad Mobin
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 5, 2014
I was using the services of...

I was using the services of Hostgator since 2009 for my web design customers and I do not face any issue related to downtime of my web site yet, no issues of server are also there, no major tech issues, no problems related to customer support..all good. High quality web hosting services offer by Hostgator.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Jubaer Kabir
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
January 28, 2014
Before selecting Hostgator, I done a...

Before selecting Hostgator, I done a lot of research and go through the reviews of various providers, so I was ensure that I select the right provider to host my web site. Hostgator offers great features by which it offers their clients the facility to transfer the data in unlimited qty., to store the unlimited data as provider offers you unlimited disk space, to ensure safety of data as it offers SSL (Secure Socket Layer), cPanel, domains and many more which ensure the level of satisfaction of the clients, as these features are required at foremost level to host the web site. With good features it also offers their customers great level of support in the form of tech assistance, appropriate suggestions, effective solutions of the problem, important info to run or host the web site and many more by which they make their clients feel happy and satisfactory. Prices of different packages are also affordable, which do not put much pressure on the client to pay the amount. After all this, the services they offer to their clients are high quality services, especially their customer service is very good..So, in all I just want to say that Hostgator is amazing, good for web hosting services and if anyone looking for the reliable web hosting provider, then try the services of Hostgator.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Mizzy Fajar
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
January 14, 2014
Please try to avoid this provider....

Please try to avoid this provider. I am operating a website on games from last three years and to host it I avail the services of hostgator.com. The company may offer you e-mail accounts and unlimited bandwidth in their plan but this is not the truth as their main focus is on your web servers, they wanted to cram it and with this they also put limitation to your CPU usage to a very incredible amount. This affects your website when it got busy and you need more processes of CPU, in that situation your website got shut down by the provider and they put blame on you that your website is not working properly and not very efficient and it requires optimizing. They also want to sell their VPS. Thus, I am not very much satisfied with the services of the provider.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Joinus In
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
January 2, 2014
What a web site...all info I...

What a web site...all info I need to host my web site is available on Hostgator’s site. The web hosting plans, their features, prices, performance, customer support , other kind of support required by client etc., all given on the site for their users and visitors. So, you do not need to go anywhere, just check out the site of Hostgator provider and you will get, whatever you are looking for in terms of web hosting.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Write review on HostGator

User Review
  • Pricing
    Sending
  • Features
    Sending
  • Easy Of Use
    Sending
  • Reliability
    Sending