Hostek Review

Sitegeek Rating
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
Read More...
Community Rating
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
See Users Reviews...

Detailed Review

Founded in 1998 and based in the USA, Hostek web hosting company has created a niche in the industry as a top web-hosting provider. The company offers quality VPS hosting and cloud server hosting to different clients all over the world. Hostek has also collaborated with popular software such as SmarterMail, SmarterStats, Spam Experts and is trusted by top international companies such as Unicef and ROLLS ROYCE to offer quality and unmatched server solutions.

  • VPS hosting
  • Dedicated hosting
  • Shared hosting

VPS hosting

VPS hosting is available in different plans depending on the system and functionalities.

They include:

Windows VPS hosting (Starting at $29.99/ month)

Windows server hosting is available for Windows servers.  Pricing for these packages start at $29.99 and includes fast servers and 99.999% uptime.

Other features include:

  • Migration assistance
  • Increase resources on demand
  • On-premise to cloud
  • Up to 16 processor cores
  • Up to 320GB of memory
  • Up to 4 TB SSD storage
  • Remote desktop access
  • Free backups and VLANs
  • 24/7 free support

ColdFusion Servers (Starting at $119.99/ month)

Pricing for these packages start at $119.99 and includes managed support.

Other features include:

  • Free CF enterprise
  • Up to 16 processor cores
  • Up to 320GB memory
  • Up to 4 TB SSD storage
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • Free Migration assistance
  • Remote desktop access

C-Panel VPS Hosting (Starting at $34.99/ month)

Pricing for these packages start at $34.99 monthly and includes unlimited bandwidth and free AUTOSSL.

Other features include:

  • Up to 16 processor cores
  • Up to 320GB memory and 4TB SSD storage
  • Free migration assistance
  • Free backups
  • Free optional add-ons such as VPNs
  • Free MySQL 5.7
  • Free ConfigServer Security and Firewall

Lucee Servers (Starting at $34.99/ month)

Pricing for these packages starts at $34.99 and includes free standard support and unlimited bandwidth.

Other features include:

  • Up to 16 processor cores
  • Up to 320GB  memory and 4TB SSD storage
  • Included back-ups
  • Data center locations in the US
  • Free MySQL 5.7
  • Included network intrusion prevention
  • RDP lockdown via the control panel
  • Free AVG CloudCare Anti-Virus

WordPress VPS Hosting (Starting at $74.99/ month)

Pricing for these packages starts at $74.99 and includes managed support and free page load booster.

Other features include:

  • Up to 16 processor cores
  • Up to 320GB memory and 4TB Fast SSD space
  • Included web application firewall
  • 1 included CDN site
  • Free migration assistance

SmarterMail Dedicated  (Starting at $99.95/ month)

Pricing for these packages start from $99.95 monthly and includes managed support and server management.

Other features include:

  • Up to 110GB RAID 10 Drive space
  • Free SmarterMail 17 upgrades
  • Up to 1000 email accounts
  • Free 24/7 awesome customer support
  • 1 free RapidSSL certificate

Linux VPS Hosting  (Starting at $6.24/ month)

Prices for these packages start from $6.24 and includes free server management and unlimited traffic.  

Other features include:

  • Up to 200GB Fast SSD-Scalable
  • Compatibility with CentOS, Debian or Ubuntu OS
  • Up to 4 cores and 8.0Ghz
  • Up to 8 GB scalable RAM
  • Free Root& SSH access
  • Data center located in the US
  • Free static IPs’

Dedicated Hosting

There are three different plans for dedicated hosting. They are:

Windows Virtual Dedicated Server Hosting (Starting at $232.99/ month)

Prices for these packages start from $232.99 monthly and includes managed support and unlimited traffic. A free trial version is also available.

Other features include:

  • Up to 16 processor cores
  • Up to 320GB memory and 4TB SSD space
  • Free RDP access
  • Included VLAN-Private Network
  • Free MySQL 5.7 and MS SQL Express
  • Included network intrusion prevention
  • Free Avast or ESET security
  • Included server firewall

Cpanel Dedicated Server Hosting (Starting at $99.99/ month)

Pricing for these packages start at $47.99 and includes migration assistance and managed support.

Other features include:

  • Up to 16 processor cores
  • Up to 320GB memory and 4TB SSD storage
  • Unlimited traffic
  • Included backups
  • Free LAMP Stack and WordPress-1 click install
  • Included MySQL 5.7
  • Included network intrusion prevention
  • ConfigServer Security and Firewall

Coldfusion Dedicated Server Hosting  (Starting at $219.99/ month)

Prices for these packages start from $219.99 monthly and includes unlimited traffic, Migration assistance, and remote access.

Other features include:

  • Included CF enterprise
  • Up to 16 processor cores
  • Up to 320GB memory and 4TB SSD storage
  • Included ColdFusion Pre-Secured
  • Compatible with ColdFusion Builder
  • Up to 320GB scalable RAM
  • Free server management
  • Data center locations in the US
  • Included backups
  • AVG Cloudcare Anti-Virus
  • Network Intrusion Prevention

Shared Hosting

There are eight plans under shared hosting. They are:

  • WordPress Optimized Shared
  • Windows Shared Hosting
  • ColdFusion Shared Hosting
  • C-panel Shared Hosting
  • Email Shared Hosting
  • Lucee Shared Hosting
  • Windows Reseller Shared Hosting
  • ColdFusion Reseller Shared Hosting

WordPress Optimized Sharing (Starting at $19.99/ month)

Pricing for these packages start from $19.99 monthly and includes free one-month use and free nightly backups. A free trial version is also available.

Other features:

  • Up to 16 processor cores
  • Up to 320GB RAM and 4TB fast SSD space
  • Free page load booster
  • Free Cpanel access
  • Included migration assistance

Windows Shared Hosting (Starting at $5.79/ month)

Pricing for these packages start from $5.79 and includes a three-month risk-free trial for the personal and business packages.

Other features:

  • Unlimited traffic
  • Free WordPress-1 click install
  • Free SmarterMail and Auto App Installer
  • Free AVG CloudCare Anti-Virus

ColdFusion Shared Hosting  (Starting at $5.99/ month)

Pricing for these packages starts from $5.99 monthly and includes performance tuning and unlimited traffic. A free trial version for custom server is also available.

Other features:

  • Included 2016 or 2018 CF version
  • Up to 5GB SSD storage

C-panel Shared Hosting (Starting at $5.79/ month)

Prices for these packages start from $5.79 and includes a three-month risk-free trial for the personal and business packages.

Other features include:

  • Unlimited fast SSD space
  • 99.999% uptime
  • Free Softaculous app installer
  • Free shared SSL
  • Protected with CloudLinux

Lucee Shared Hosting (Starting at $5.79/ month)

Prices for these packages start from $5.79 a month and includes managed support and free migration assistance.

Other features include:

  • 99.999% uptime
  • Free SmarterMail and Auto App installer
  • Free transfer from other hosts
  • Lucee Web Admin access
  • AVG CloudCare Anti-Virus

Email only shared hosting  (Starting at $6.99/ month)

Prices for these packages start from $6.99 monthly and includes one free month for basic and advanced packages.

Other features include:

  • Unlimited mail forwarding and autoresponders
  • Free auto-spam and anti-virus tools
  • Mail content filtering
  • Included web-based mail
  • Free mailing lists

Windows’s reseller shared hosting  (Starting at $19.99/ month)

Prices for these packages start from $19.99 monthly and includes a free first month for shared seller package.

Other features include:

  • Free WordPress-1 click install
  • Unlimited traffic
  • Included MySQL and MS SQL servers
  • 99.999% uptime
  • AVG CloudCare Anti-virus

ColdFusion Reseller Shared Hosting (Starting at $27.99/ month)

Prices for these packages start from $27.99 monthly and includes free-month for the WINDOWS OS and LINUX OS servers.

Other features include:

  • Unlimited traffic
  • Free ColdFusion Server Experts
  • 99.999% uptime
  • Included network intrusion prevention
  • Included MySQL 5.7 database

Pros of Hostek hosting

  • A wide variety of hosting plans and packages
  • Variety of plans with free-trial packages
  • Different payment methods such as Credit cards and Paypal
  • Reliable customer service support
  • Has a 30-day money back guarantee

Cons

  • Slow server speeds than most server’ hosting companies
  • No refunds for Bitcoin payments
  • Control panel is less user-friendly when compared with competitors’ panels

Hostek Users Reviews

Rating 3.2 (17 reviews)
John Van Horn
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
May 17, 2018
I have been a ColdFusion developer...

I have been a ColdFusion developer for 18 years now. I have worked with many hosting companies, and Hostek by far provides the best customer support out there. They are the only true source for ColdFusion hosting. They are fast to respond and very knowledgeable. A few years back they were having soe growing pains, and support suffered, but they are back at the top again, and I wouldn`t host a ColdFusion site anywhere else.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

JW Prairiecomm
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
October 3, 2016
I`ve used hostek since about 10...

I`ve used hostek since about 10 or 15 years. It is rare that it takes more than an hour for me to get an email response and I usually get through to a human being tech support in less than a minute. It`s rare to be put on hold. They pay attention to the sites that I manage and immediately let me know of any problems. They are continually upgrading their servers to the current highest security standards. I have probably 100 client sites with them as well as my personal site and am very pleased. I noticed a bad review below (holman). The customer should have taken responsibility for keeping their email address updated. Every hosting company will eventually delete your account if you don`t pay and they can`t reach you. Hostek seems to hold overdue sites in their backup for several months, so this particular person must really not have been paying attention at all. Yes, tier 1 tech support may not always give the best answer - but again, that is true of all hosting companies. What is more important to me is that they pay attention and they respond quickly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Heather Holman
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
July 12, 2016
Don`t use if you value your...

Don`t use if you value your site! Horrible hosting company! Deleted years of work on my blog when my credit card expired and they were sending a reminder to the wrong email address. By the time I had noticed they took down my site and deleted my database and files without ever giving me a copy or saving a copy. My backup hard drive with my site crashed so without it my site is gone forever. Not helpful at when I contacted support.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Erik Epp
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
September 14, 2015
been with hostek for 8 years...

been with hostek for 8 years and they used to be a good provider but with load times in the 20 second range it is costing me money. Today the whole system is down not even their own site is up. When I called I get a busy signal guess it is time to move all my sites out of this host. Loosing 50 dollars an hour can kill a small business owner quick.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Chris
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
September 5, 2015
I can`t say enough good things...

I can`t say enough good things about Hostek support. We`ve always found them responsive, professional and effective. I`ll share a recent story:

The shared ColdFusion server that houses several of our sites was scheduled for an upgrade from CF9 to CF11. This presented a huge problem for us as the sites in question were quite old and we knew they would not run in the new version. Furthermore we no longer develop for ColdFusion in our studio so there was no way we were going to be able to contract an engineer in time to diagnose and patch any issues before the changeover.

We contacted Hostek support and explained our situation. Brian not only provided a CF11 staging server (free of charge) to test against but brought in a ColdFusion engineer of his own to diagnose and patch the problems.

This is way above the call of duty and we couldn`t be happier with the way it turned out.

We`ve been through many hosts over the years and we have never experienced that level of support anywhere else.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Steve
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
September 1, 2015
I`ve been a loyal customer for...

I`ve been a loyal customer for about 10 years both personal and prof. I even have a VPS with them, but it`s very slow at times.
In the past 2 years, their service has gone downhill. Support staff cannot write complete sentences and don`t seem to care. They also seem to ignore your issue with your first contact, stating there`s no problem. Then they`ll say maybe there is a problem. Then, if they fix it, they will find a way to make it YOUR fault. Then they`ll tell you they cannot provide support.

The way they "support" you is almost laughable, if it wasn`t such a serious issue. But it`s not funny when your site is down for extended periods of time and you exchange email with these clowns for 6 hours.
I now regret recommending them to colleagues and being held responsible for my online systems being unreliable. We`re looking for a replacement company ASAP. HostMySite has the same VPS for 100 bucks cheaper a month. Anyone have experience with them lately? Any others? advice?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Dennis
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
August 19, 2015
I just contacted Hostek about slow...

I just contacted Hostek about slow loading sites, which has been going on since I`m a customer, so that`s about 1-1.5 years, maybe longer not sure, they replied quite quickly and said they fixed it, however when I ran my sites through a pageload time checker the loading sites were still 9-25 seconds so they`re just talking out of their whatever. Very pathetic that they first admit their slow servers, than say they fixed it, while in fact nothing has been fixed at all. If you care about your website visitors I seriously suggest you find another hosting company as this is too absurd for words.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Brian Anderson
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
August 18, 2015
In reply to Dennis... There...

In reply to Dennis... There was another site on the shared server over-utilizing the resources via a bad Cron. We quickly took care of that and your site is loading good now, which you have also indicated in your support ticket reply.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

sunburst books
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 1, 2015
Hostek failed to renew my server...

Hostek failed to renew my server certificate and upload the latest files when they did an unannounced server reboot causing several issues with my site that needed immediate attention and a $200 bill to me to get it fixed. Hostek refused to pay so I will NEVER use them again. They are a disgrace to honest hardworking small business owners. I WOULD NOT recommend using their hosting service ever as their customer service is quite poor even though their business is basically serving customers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Heather Kramer
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
July 10, 2014
Overall this provider is excellent. I...

Overall this provider is excellent. I really appreciate the services, support, plans, features and other important things of this company as they deliver max satisfaction in each and every area.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Stina Lynn
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
June 7, 2014
The packages offered by the company...

The packages offered by the company are simply great and awesome. They offered different types of hosting such as shared hosting in which they offer various plans such as Railo, Linux, ColdFusion, Windows/ .NET. Next they offered is Reseller hosting in which they offer you various kinds of plans such as Railo, Linux, ColdFusion, Windows/ .NET. In VPS hosting the company offers Railo, Linux, ColdFusion, Windows/ .NET, Smarter mail and Cpanel. With the above features offer in their various hosting plans, the company also offers great support to their clients like whenever you feel that you are in trouble, they will help you and try to resolve your trouble in a simple and quick manner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Alaina Stamatis
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
May 17, 2014
I have been using the Cold...

I have been using the Cold fusion and Railo plan of the Shared hosting and completely satisfied with the services, as the features they offer given below are totally appropriate as per my website;
In the ColdFusion plan, I got the following features:
* ColdFusion 10 (and CF9)
* MS SQL 2012
* ASP.NET
* MySQL 5
* Classic ASP
* PHP
* Wordpress
In the Railo plan, I got the given features:
* Railo CFML
* MS SQL 2012
* ASP.NET
* MySQL 5
* Classic ASP
* PHP
* Railo admin access
The above given features are very useful for hosting websites and on the basis of these features, I would like to recommend this provider to others also.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Leah Laurenti
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 11, 2014
I buy Linux and ASP.NET package...

I buy Linux and ASP.NET package of Reseller hosting of the provider six months back. In the first month their services were free, and then from the second month they started charging. The features I received in the Linux are:
* Unlimited domains
* Unlimited MySQL
* Bandwidth capacity of 1000 GB
* Disk space capacity of 50 GB
The features I received in the ASP.NET are:
* Unlimited domains
* MySQL
* Bandwidth in an unlimited qty.
* Disk space
* MS SQL 2012
By using these features, the work of website hosting is done in a smooth and in an excellent way.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

George Fabian
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
March 8, 2014
I am in the need of...

I am in the need of a provider who may offer great level of safety and security to my website as well as its data also. As I am having a big business so security of data is the first most requirement of mine as mostly it is seen that the data is not safe in the form of their soft copy these days because lots of unauthorized users or hackers steal the data or they were attack by viruses, worms and other harmful things, so in order to protect them it is necessary that the hosting company must provide some anti-virus and anti spam measures and here I received the same.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Joshua Cashaw
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 20, 2014
Everything is perfect...it is normally not...

Everything is perfect...it is normally not seen in case of anything, but I am lucky that I found such a good and reliable web hosting provider which makes me feel and think like this. Whatever I want from any hosting company to host my sites, I really got it here only and not only this, I got good hosting services which host my websites properly. With the hosting services, I also want great customer service which also I got it here; they resolve the issues very quickly and deliver max customer satisfaction. Overall, I got everything and that too in a perfect way and happy with my decision.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Mark Bohrer
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
January 30, 2014
There are so many web hosting...

There are so many web hosting companies and among all of them I select this provider due to the following reasons, which are actually the requirements of any client who is looking for a web hosting company;
* The company offers new hardware i.e. complete servers of Dell
* With the generator power, True A and B power
* Storage grade system of an enterprise
* Great backups-Onsite and Offsite
* Good and improved services
* Providing guarantee of good performance
* High reputation
* Reasonable price
I am also in the need of the above requirements and that’s why I chosen this company to host my several websites and totally satisfied with the services.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Patty Flack
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
January 2, 2014
I avail the services of the...

I avail the services of the Hostek and used their VPS Hosting services from last one year and I am very pleased with them, as they offer great features given below:
* 24 hrs customer and technical support via leading technology
* Great infrastructures
* Experts consultation from the planning stage to future growth at free of cost
* Great 99.999% Uptime
* Back up facility to take proper back up of data
* Management of server at free of cost
* Guarantee of refunding of money within 30 days if not satisfied with the services
The above features really provide very helpful to me in hosting my sites in a proper manner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Write review on Hostek

User Review
  • Plans Availability
    Sending
  • Pricing
    Sending
  • Features
    Sending
  • Easy Of Use
    Sending
  • Reliability
    Sending