Web hosting reviews, complains, deals and news

A Small Orange Review

Sitegeek Rating
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
Read More...
Community Rating
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
See Users Reviews...

Detailed Review

Asmallorange offers knowledgeable and insightful hosting services bundled with many features. The user can upgrade his current plan by using additional services. The hosting plan includes Reseller hosting, Cloud VPS, Dedicated Servers, Managed Hosting, Business Hosting and Shared Hosting. It incorporates with features like website builder, web design services and integrity, softaculous installer and server management. The company handles all patches, updates, security matters and website management with cPanel. Services provided are highly reliable with RAID1 for data protection. Numerous bandwidth is available for most famous internet sites. Dedicated resources like disk space, RAM and virtualized CPU with extremely high efficient services.

A Small Orange Users Reviews

Rating 3.4 (10 reviews)
Dr-Shadi LuLu
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
August 27, 2016
excellent

excellent

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

AnnaAnn
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
March 23, 2016
We moved to A Small Orange...

We moved to A Small Orange from our previous host after doing extensive research. Even though ASO was a bit more expensive than some other hosts, we went with them as they had great reviews and promise a ``Homegrown Website Hosting`` service with great support.

Oh boy. This company, who is now a part of the huge EIG conglomerate, is a complete mess.

We`ve had numerous issues with them. Here are just a couple of them:

- When we reported spam that we were getting from a 3rd party, they locked OUR account, without investigating who the abuser and who the victim was.

- The downtime is extremely frequent, and happens weekly.

- They will often block outgoing emails via SMTP, using MailChannels

- They deleted a bunch of files on our hosting, without letting us know. This was apparently due to a false positive by their updated malware scanner. They did not contact us to let us know that they had updated the scanner, or that any files were deleted. When this was reported to them, they took TWO WEEKS to get back to us, despite numerous emails.

- If you have issues with abuse or mail deliverability, live chat or regular support CAN NOT and WILL NOT help you. They will create a ticket and forward it to the abuse team, who does not work 24/7.

On top of all that, their tone and their approach is nonchalant and unapologetic. They really sound like they do not care about their customers, and it shows.

A Small Orange has been a huge disappointment, and hosting with them is simply not worth the hassle. We`ve had numerous hosts over the years, but A Small Orange takes the prize as one of the worst web hosts ever.

Avoid.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Scott
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
May 4, 2015
Been using ASO for years.

Their tech...

Been using ASO for years.

Their tech support team are usually very good and timely.

However I`ve had a lot of uptime problems with my website more recently. Whilst ASO always respond and get the sites back up and running, it`s getting to the point where I have to report my sites down every day. Will be looking to most to another provider soon

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Alec
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 7, 2015
A Small Orange is not going...

A Small Orange is not going to give unlimited plans with a collection of hidden limitations underneath a low price. Customers have to pay for the resources they need. They have got a broad range of perfect plans for all types of budgets.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Villars M
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
December 27, 2014
A Small orange is offering 35%...

A Small orange is offering 35% discount on fully managed SEO and PPC services. It is great offer in Christmas holiday season. The company’s SEO service starts at $99. The managed services have designed for individuals or small businesses to optimize their websites to be more easy. Customers can also get 49% off on a dedicated server.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Sally
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
October 29, 2014
A Small Orange will be raising...

A Small Orange will be raising and donating money to various charities throughout the month of October.
In Austin, A Small Orange is supporting local Austin animal shelter, Austin Pets Alive, throughout the month of October.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Juan Maurice
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
May 13, 2014
The customer support offered by the...

The customer support offered by the provider is the best. If you have any specific queries and you required their tech assistance then their ticket may be opened by them for you. In the last few months, the longest time I have to wait for their answer is about 12 to15 minutes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Dela Cruz
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
April 16, 2014
I am a big businessman, as...

I am a big businessman, as right now I am having three businesses, and my schedule also keeps me very busy all the day and that’s why I don’t get so much time that I can write a review on any company’s services. But asmallorange.com is an exception.I am having three websites and just 6-7 days back my 2 websites has been moved to asmallorange.com. There are some biggest web hosts and cloud hosts in the U.S. and my one website was hosted by the former one and my other site was hosted by the latter one. Among the three websites, my one websites is Joomla based and I am planning to move the other site to the platform of Joomla. It has been observed that the provider was used by most of my Joomla programmers and thus some research was also done by me. There are few reasons behind the selection of this company: 1) Their Joomla upgrades are automatic. 2) The new components may be tested at a staging area and it is offered by asmallorange.com and also upgrades them just with the help of one click of a button. 3) The provider also offers some tools meant to accelerate the website for speeding up an installation of pokey Joomla.Thing which I like to appreciate is their support. I am always very busy and impatient. I want the answers of my queries very quickly; I can’t wait for them so long. My exp with the previous web host said that they were in such a hurry for closing a ticket that they did not even read everything given in the ticket. But this is not the case with this provider. Their staffs are very proficient, fast, knowledgeable and professional and their English is too good. They will really answer the queries on the phone and if instruction then step by step via live chat or e-mail. I am very pleased with the overall services.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Ulysses Costanilla
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
March 18, 2014
The technical support was just excellent...

The technical support was just excellent with the company. Their offering of technical support via live chat mode was too good. They were very patient while resolving the issues and when I don’t understood anything regarding the problem. Their staff were very knowledgeable and experts in resolving all kinds of issues and they don’t kept you waiting for long hours. If I had any query or issue, they were dealing effectively and very quickly and it doesn’t matter whether that time I am in other country and the provider is located in some other country. Their services are like 5 star services especially their Customer service. I am very happy and satisfied.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Chad Yow
  • Plans Availability
  • Pricing
  • Features
  • Easy Of Use
  • Reliability
February 1, 2014
One of my customers is having...

One of my customers is having 4 websites on this provider. In the beginning their supporting staffs was very helpful, but one incident happened with me which reflects that these people are totally confused. My client has been running Joomla’s old instance. The provider prepared the website copy and also upgraded the same to the current version. This task was done by them in a very fast and effective manner.I am very pleased but after few days I came to know that the website was being hacked by the hacker and new way was formed by them by which they were able to exploit an example on the PHP Mail server that was packed in one of their other website with the help of Word press site. Through boatload spams were received from the hackers. In order to stop the hacking, my websites has been shut down by the provider. Now here everything goes in a wrong direction. Now as to solve the issue, their staff asked me that my Joomla should be updated by me. Then I mail my log files to let them know that the issue was concerned with the Word press site. But they don’t consider it seriously and again telling the same thing. But you know what; the website of Joomla was updated. I explained the same to them for several no. of times. And they revert back to me with very stupid answer...told me to download and start Norton anti-virus as viruses are in my computers. What the hell...Around 6-7 hrs. Spent by me to discuss all this with them via live chat, phone and e-mails and they revert with such foolish answer. Communication is another major problem. The staff cannot resolve the problems on the phone in just one or two calls. Sometimes they do not even respond on the phone, as their customer handling is mainly done through tickets. Very poor customer service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Write review on A Small Orange